poem for the moany groany whiney

May 25, 2009 § Leave a comment

Dom referred me to the following poem because I was being a moany groany whiney person the time he happened to talk to me. I appreciate the kind effort to build me up 🙂  Anyway, here it is! I do quite like it, partly because it rhymes. I like poems which rhyme. I didn’t like literature in secondary school because there were this whole bunch of poems which didn’t rhyme. Poems should always rhyme, or so I think. This has a cheerful ring to it. Basically it says ‘oooh yay for troubles!’, but not in a sarcastic way lar 🙂

If my days were untroubled and my heart always light,
Would I seek that fair land where there is no night?

If I never grew weary with the weight of my load,
Would I search for God’s peace at the end of the road?

If I never knew sickness and never felt pain,
Would I search for a hand to help and sustain?

If I walked without sorrow and lived without loss,
Would my soul seek solace at the foot of the cross?

If all I desired was mine day by day,
Would I kneel before God and earnestly pray?

If God sent no Winter to freeze me with fear,
Would I yearn for the warmth of Spring every year?

I ask myself these and the answer is plain –
If my life were pleasure and I never knew pain –

I’d seek God less often and need Him much less,
For God is sought more often in times of distress.

And no one knows more or sees Him as plain
As those who have met Him on the “Pathway of Pain”.

– Author Unknown

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading poem for the moany groany whiney at renebeams.

meta

