old friends

June 9, 2009 § Leave a comment

I divide the causes of human laughter into Joy, Fun, the Joke Proper, and Flippancy. You will see the first among friends and lovers reunited on the eve of a holiday. Among adults some pretext in the way of Jokes is usually provided, but the facility with which the smallests witticisms produce such laughter at such a time shows that they are not the real cause.

– C.S.Lewis in The Screwtape Letters (Chapter 11)

Being the tortoise that I am, I was taking a tad too long browsing and reminiscing over some children’s books at Bras Basah (They have Enid Blyton, Polly and the wolf, Nancy Drew :D)

I should have known better. I got the tap impatiently on the shoulder and a “Hey, are you done?” from YC.

YC is Mother of Frank. Not that I mind, I’m the Grandma of Frank. YC used to comment that I was too frank, but look at her now 🙂 Mic is highly amused. She bursts out laughing. “Next time when YC becomes a boss and her employees are slow, she’s going to knock on their table and ask ‘hey are you done?’ ”

YC is not amused. She tries to defend herself. If that were to happen, she says, she’ll just wait quietly. Which led me to retort with a smirk, “heh so patient with your employees, why not so patient with me!” Poor her has to defend herself again, “that’s because you’re my friend!” 

The liberties we take with friends. 🙂0903270018

It’s so good to meet up with them again. After dinner at some chicken rice place, and walking along with intervals where we tried on YC’s high heels she was complaining about, we sat in Macs over a Sundae and a Milo (some in the cup, and some on my shirt–you can guess why later). We reminisced about the days in Nanyang, about how we have not really changed that much etc.We talked about going backpacking. Mic would read the map, because YC and I were hopeless at it. YC would hurry all the slow service providers with her ‘are you done?’. I would speak to the french people we met along the way if we got lost. I was quick to remind Mic who suggested that role of mine in the backpacking, that the only 2 phrases I know after all my french CDs  are ‘bonjour'(hello) and ‘je ne sais pas’ (I don’t know). [OK add a ‘champignon’ (mushroom) to that, something I picked up at Jess’s cookout.] How are we going to survive if I only know how to say hello and make the other party feel like the most un-understood person in the world? 

We were a barrel of laughs. We would laugh at YC, and she would laugh too, then have me point out that she was laughing at herself, which would lead into another cycle. Halfway through I realised that we were a sight, because we were laughing too happily, but it’s hard to care about such things when you’re so happy.

I’m glad for friends like this. Not only because of the laughter. Because of the honesty. Because of the familiarity. Many things.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading old friends at renebeams.

meta

