vancouver…one toe in

September 9, 2009 § 4 Comments

The weather lately has been horrible, leaving me walking as fast as i can to the nearest indoor area. My room is really cold too. Usually I’m already quite reluctant to get out of bed in the morning. Here, the cold doesn’t help. I don’t feel like touching water and heading out into the cold. Fortunately I have a little roller chair so I can transport myself around the room without touching to floors. I highly doubt they have central heating here because my floor is really cold. As such, even the little-est things like having a warm classroom to sit in for 3 hours and thaw make me feel quite blissful. It also makes me appreciate our Singapore weather, because it’s never untolerable and never gives me dehydrated and dry skin. Gah.

On better days I venture out. On some of my trips to town I’ve come upon really quaint countryside-like shops I love to look around in πŸ™‚ Along the pathways, there are little dandelions popping their heads and the mountains, visible from almost anywhere of vancouver, makes for quite a pleasant experience. Of course, though, when the weather gets too chilly, I’ll be too cold to enjoy any of this. But otherwise, it’s pretty nice.

The campus itself is beautiful already, although I won’t compare it to my trips outside of school. Just yesterday, I went to take a walk and was delighted to find a space which very much resembles the secret garden. I wish that my childhood wonderment would come back so I would find the space magical, and one to call my own. Perhaps reading ‘The secret garden’ again would help. Currently, I’m trying to get into the countryside mood with ‘Wind in the Willows’ for bedtime reading.

looking into the secret garden

looking into the secret garden

Looking back, I think I did pretty ok for week 1. Well, not me, God with me did pretty ok. There have been ups and downs, but none too dramatic that couldn’t be handled. People aren’t the most friendly. They’re pretty helpful, especially when I get lost. It’s just that they don’t really seem interested in making friends. Perhaps I was expecting everyone to be REALLY friendly, but in some ways, people here are like Singaporeans. Judging from the first class, they don’t talk TOO much. But ok, it was like that in NUS too. I mean, I’m like that too– not too interested in making too many acquaintences. It’s times like this I’m glad that NUS trained me to go to classes by myself because I think I’m quite self-sufficient so going to class alone is not something that daunts me too much. It’s normal anyway. Of course, if I had GOOD friends to accompany me, I would be most delighted. Here, I can think of people like Ah Jiu, Pek, Sharon, Audrey, Vera… :))

I can’t really believe only a week has gone by because it feels much longer than this. I know the parents at home are missing me and soo I’m going to bathe now and sleep early so I can wake up at 7am tomorrow, roll myself over to the desk and skype, if God grants me good internet connection.

§ 4 Responses to vancouver…one toe in

  • vera says:

    the picture of the secret garden is pretty! πŸ™‚

    i miss u too! i wish i were there in canada too, singapore’s weather is so humid nowadays. haha!

    jiayou for school! πŸ˜€

  • sharonlin1988 says:

    hmm. i have to admit i’m not at all friendly towards exchange students. like i don’t feel very motivated to approach them and get to know them. but if they did seem interested in making friends, i guess i wouldn’t turn a blind eye. so if you ever feel like you don’t want to be lonely in class, why not make the first move? =)

  • Pek says:

    I love reading the Secret Garden. I wished I found a corner like this in NUS. 😦 Going around can be really fun. I like to travel on random whims. πŸ˜€

    I miss you. There are so many miles between us. Singapore’s weather been horrid, don’t feel like doing anything despite the huge amount of work I have to do.

  • Serene says:

    hey girls, thanks so much for leaving messages here πŸ™‚ soooo nice to read this when i’m all alone in my hostel room and missing u all badly too >.< Nice to know that people still care for me back home because it's easy to feel insignificant here.

    haha i want to unite with u all in complaining about the singapore weather but i have, because of the cold here, vowed not to complain about the heat in singapore.

    and sharon, yup u make so much sense. I'll try that out in the classes next week πŸ™‚ and next time i'll be nicer to exchange students!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading vancouver…one toe in at renebeams.

meta

