Stanley Park

November 5, 2009 § 2 Comments

 

Sunny days have been painfully rare these days, and to add to that, the sun has been setting very early at 4.30pm. So when I checked the weather forecast and it said Wednesday would be a sunny day, I flung away all obligations to go for lessons and went to Stanley Park by myself 😀

0911040045 It is indeed a pretty place. I started off at the coal harbour seaside walk and saw many pretty boats. Some looked nothing like boats and more like houses. Ah, a life at sea 😀

0911040077 Then I came upon a duck pond and because I was hungry, I sat down to eat my lunch. Halfway through eating, I noticed a crow looking at me eating. I got scared, but decided to be brave so I stood up and walked towards the crow. It got scared. Then I sat down again. Now, two seagulls fly over and stare at me as I eat. I repeated the same process. Since there are few ducks in Singapore, I also whipped out my camera to take photos of the ducks. However, whenever I clicked my camera, they would dive in the water and show me their backside. Maybe they’re having their lunch too (diving into water=finding food to eat). It took quite a while before I got some shots of them actually behaving decently.

0911040085 After my scary lunch and the indecent show by the ducks, I continued on my journey. I was surprised when I saw a fallen tree. It was very old, probably my age or older. I stared at it for a while when I realised that I could climb onto it 😀 Yay! So I proceeded my climbing. I distinctly heard someone say, “there’s a girl up on that tree!” It was quite easy, but being the easily satisfied person that I am, I was highly proud of myself and tried to take a few shots of myself on the tree. They turned out to be quite bad. Heh. While watching people pass by as I sat on the tree, the clever girl in me realised I could ask someone to take a shot of me. So ahh…I shouted out to the passers-by and a nice girl took a shot for me 😀 Please do not doubt my sanity.

The scenery changed quite a bit when I passed the Lion’s Gate Bridge. Now, the path was flanked by the cliff on the left and the sea on the right, where previously the path was flanked by trees on the left. Signs told me to beware of falling rocks, but of course, I was assured that God would protect me. 😀

0911040130The swish rock was really nice, with the sunset behind it. A tree took the liberty to grow on top of the swish rock. I’m wondering what will happen when the tree grows up and becomes bigger than the swish rock.

After passing the swish rock, I finally came to some beach. I’ve been missing going to the beach and actually seeing some sand. However, the beach was not very pretty and I’m sorry Canada beach, but I think Singapore’s beach is nicer. 😡

Am super proud of myself for walking more than 10 km today! I also must thank God for leading me safely to Life in the Spirit seminar which was at night, even though I didn’t plan too carefully how I would get there. LISS was, once again, life-giving. There is such a community of love, even though I won’t say people are familiar with each other yet. But I can say confidently that it is a safe environment to voice your experiences and vulnerabilities without fear of being judged. Sharings today took on a deeper level as we shared the changes we see in ourselves after the baptism of the holy spirit. For that I am glad. 🙂

§ 2 Responses to Stanley Park

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stanley Park at renebeams.

meta

