being a parent

November 10, 2009 § Leave a comment

One would think that she had the perfect life. She was, after all, my role model, the one who through her kindness, inspires me to be kind to my friends here.

But as she talks about her children her voice speaks of regret. I hardly know what to say.

What I know is that every parent gives her children what she deems best for them, whether or not it seems to pay off in the end, whether or not we would think the action right.

Meeting an anguished parent, and recently hearing another anguished mother worry aloud to her friend about her wayward child, I get but a glimpse of the depth of parental love. How deep it is, I probably won’t understand until I become a parent myself. And if and when I do become a parent, I think I will get only a glimpse of our Father’s love of us.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading being a parent at renebeams.

meta

