under the umbrella

November 16, 2009 § Leave a comment

While walking along the pavement after mass today, I spotted the bus and dashed towards it. I didn’t catch it. The man who had just gotten off smiled sympathetically and I managed a laugh.

It seemed unfortunate at first. Not catching the bus meant that I had to stand under the rain to wait for the next bus. After a while, a few more people walked out from church. One guy was holding an umbrella. He looked at me. I looked away. I could tell that he was thinking of sharing his umbrella. After standing there for a few tentative minutes, the umbrella was over my head. 😀

It turned out to be a good opportunity for conversation. First was trying to guess each other’s accent. I guessed Sri Lanka. He’s from India. He guessed Malaysia. I’m from Singapore. Then was finding out what each other were doing here…and finally it ended with an invitation to coffee, and maybe with the priest too!! Apparently they’re familiar with each other 😀

Thank God I missed the bus 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading under the umbrella at renebeams.

meta

