Gone and back

January 24, 2010 § 5 Comments

When I first arrived in September

I discovered

the garden at AQ,

0912140003

which held

among its tall bushes

a delightful secret

0906280046

There were the little things too,

like leaves

in shapes I had never seen before.

0906280058

I went to grouse for the big things.

It was a mountain.

On my way up I thought

maybe I would fall and die.

grouse3.4mark

But no.

topgrouse

In October

I was soon hanging onto dear life again

this time quite happily

hangingonboat

on the way to see the whales.

whalejumping

Then I went to the rockies where

I fell in love with the mountains and the lakes

rocky2

gurgling brooks,

grazing cows,

and funnily,

christmas trees covered in snow.

rockyxmastree

All too soon we were back in school

But Halloween comforted with her other delights.

DSC00488

In November

on the way to whistler

I beheld

the untouchable beauty of Shannon falls

shannon falls (20th Nov)

which brought alive for me

the notion that the destination’s not everything.

Amidst the dreary rains of vancouver’s november also

I seized a sunny day, so rare

and went to Stanley Park myself.

I saw there a fallen tree to climb

which in excitement I scrambled up

How I love trees, fallen ones included.

0911040085

In december

just when I thought maybe I was done with discovering

I walked onto the rooftop

towards the mountains

DSC01073

DSC01074

I never knew you could just climb onto the rooftop to reach beauty.

Sometimes you have to travel though

and travel I did

to New York

DSC01258

Washington

DSC01435

Niagara falls

DSC01768

vineyards

DSC01842

through doors I never thought I would enter

DSC02004

into the glorious places within

DSC02007

I should mention it involved lots of snow

The tiny flake you see when you look over your shoulder…

DSC01507

and others you sink your boots into.

0912200141

The last day in school was ironically

a day of further discoveries

Amidst the packing

I spent it staring

this time more closely

at the sunrise

DSC02588

at the snow

DSC02638

Even the unoccupied benches looked beautiful to me DSC02644

As the time ticked away

I was overcome by nostalgia

sitting in the kitchen

looking outside the window…

DSC02664

4 months away

but I’m back now.

0089

Into the land of good food

0045

sunny days

0008

and I guess most importantly,

family

0051

and who can forget,

friends.

0106

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Gone and back

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gone and back at renebeams.

meta

