waking up to a rainday

March 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

I would have slept in, though it was already 10.30am.

But the telephone rang. I sneaked a peep at the sister, who was soundly asleep. I had hoped she would be awake to answer the phone. Remembering that she was sick, even though I think she would have got up if the phone rang long enough because I have gained a reputation for sleeping like a log, I dragged myself out of bed.

I knew it. It was the dad. It’s raining, he said. Go keep the clothes, he instructed.

Heh. But somehow, I was excited.

Because it was raining! I love raindays. As I slid open the window and bent forward to inhale deeply the fresh scent of the rain, my eyes indulged in the brilliant colours of the tree with bright yellow flowers against the silent grey sky.

And I was happy.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading waking up to a rainday at renebeams.

meta

