humility disarms

April 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

Wars are fought with weapons. We do two primary things, to attack, and to defend. But I suggest, and I think Christianity suggests too, that what is far better than a strategy focused on either of these is to disarm, or to surrender.

There is no one who provides a better example for this than Jesus. He accepted, without struggle, His cross:

He was led as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before its shearers is silent, so He opened not His mouth. —Isaiah 53:7

By this act of surrender– dying for our sins on the cross– He won the most important battle of all– that against evil.

Whenever I’m faced with such selflessness and humility, whatever stubborness and indifference I have fades away. I find myself disarmed and vulnerable, not because I am being attacked but because I feel His vulnerability.

I unwittingly find myself in this state when my mother cooked for me after coming home from work. The presumptuous girl in me who assumes that I should be waited upon is disarmed, as I eat my meal silently. So it is when my father sells my old computer, which gets me raging mad, until I see him making trips to and fro to get a new one for me. I start feeling bad for bombarding him with calls, first to scold him for selling it, next to ask him to retrieve my information.

It is because they don’t attack me back, even though I’m quite unreasonable, that makes me love them.

Sometimes, I wonder how one learns to love Jesus, who lived thousands of years ago. But perhaps this is a silly question. Once one comes to a realisation the humiliations he suffered on our behalf, it is impossible to be untouched.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading humility disarms at renebeams.

meta

