the burden of ‘I’

May 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

Sometimes, one wonders why s/he is not happy. She looks to her complete though imperfect family, and friends who care for her, and thinks it unreasonable that she should be in such a state.

I think it’s something to do with the burden of ‘I’. Let me explain.

An image came to my mind, after reading a quote of G.K.Chesterton:

“Angels can fly because they can take themselves lightly”

Flying is fun. But the image in my mind is of a person, who cannot fly, because instead of wings, she is burdened by ‘I’.

What is ‘I’?

‘I’ is all the things she aspires to be, considered quite independently of Jesus. ‘I’ includes all her plans for herself. ‘I’ is about being vain. ‘I’ is about being loved and revered. But ‘I’ is a burden, because in trying to fulfill the wants of ‘I’, she forgets about heaven, truth and eternal beauty. Holding on to ‘I’ means she seeks to find these on earth. Burdened by ‘I’, she cannot fly.

It all comes to make sense when I read what Mother Teresa says,

 “When I see someone sad, I always think, she is refusing something to Jesus”.

It is true. I have been refusing to give him ‘I’.

To end off on a brighter note, perhaps it’s time to try…

defying gravity 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the burden of ‘I’ at renebeams.

meta

