a quiet day

May 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

I am often woken up in the morning by the chirping of the birds outside my window. Strangely though, I fall right back to sleep and get up around noon. Ok, but that’s not the point. The point is who wakes these birds up? Why don’t they sleep in? Is it true…that they want to be early enough to catch the worms?

Anyway, apart from those birds… today is a quiet day because the family’s off to hong kong. I declined to go because I don’t shop and besides, it’s a waste of money to go there to shop. Since I have so little money, I’m not going to waste it on places I’m not really keen on. I see this as knowing what I want and move on to congratulate myself. 😀 Ha, this kind of attitude doesn’t get me anyway in the friend department…I often decide I’m happy enough with the friends I have and see no need of making new ones. faint. It’s not that I don’t make friends, but I only make friends when I like the person…and the friend likes me back too lar. faint.

Oh! And I wanted to thank God for giving my sister an NTU scholarship hohoho~ Now the girl is a bit looney because she thinks she might want to go to NUS, one of the reasons being that her lovely sister is there. My charms aside, I think she should go to NTU so our mummy can safely retire. Afterall,  she has been complaining about work ever since she got promoted.

+++

My mind is suddenly brought back to a conversation I had with Ashley. It’s quite random. We were talking about confession. So holy right~~~

But it was a method of confession. But before you think us super pious, let me expound on the method.

This method is not really origninal. It was borne out of the trouble of remembering our sins in the confessional. Being university undergraduates however, we thought that the mnemonic way could be good.

For example, we can think of sins that fit in with F.O.R.G.I.V.E

Fanning the flames

Ogling at my friend’s food

Rendering help to the enemy

Gluttony

I–putting myself first

Veering off the course of prayer

Egging on someone to waste time watching TV with me

The best part, is that after your sins, you can ask the priest in your brightest and most angelic smile if he notices anything. And if he doesn’t, heh heh, you can tell him 😡

I haven’t had the nerve to try it yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a quiet day at renebeams.

meta

