the antidote to fear

August 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

There are a few fears I have with regards to being in honours modules.

For one, I wonder if my brain can take it.

For another, I wonder if my brain should take it. After all, what I learn may not necessarily be right, it being only one way of looking at the world.

Finally, I worry about not making good enough friends, which I think is important if I want to enjoy the modules. Also, honours modules typically consist of more group projects and presentations. I had better liked my fellow classmates and be liked too.

Just the week before, I was worrying if I would find a group to work with. After all, I didn’t recognise most of my classmates and needless to say, if people grouped with their friends, I wouldn’t be in a group at all.

I worried about this again as I made my way to school on monday, when I recalled the verse that stood out to me the night before, ‘If God is for us, who can be against us?’ (Romans 8:31) I had repeated that before I went to sleep too.

Meditating upon this verse brought a peace of mind, and also a confidence that things will turn out well.

It seemed to me that with this confident mindset, things went rather smoothly. First, although I was going to be late for class, the shuttle bus that I take to school was waiting for me as soon as I walked out from the MRT station.

I was 10 minutes late. But within minutes after walking into class, I was approached to be part of a group. And it turned out that the people who made up this group were not only from my former JC (I guessed that’s why they recognised me) but also rather nice people. Apart from that, they were also not the high-strung people in class who do readings wayy before the term starts, and so I immediately felt quite comfortable with them–for a first meeting.

Looking back at it, had I been early, that group probably wouldn’t have noticed me. Had I been more than 10 minutes late, it may be that everyone would have settled the group arrangements already.

If you hadn’t already guessed, what I learnt through this episode is that the antidote to fear is a trust in God. And “this hope does not disappoint us, for God has poured his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, who is God’s gift to us.”

Once again, I am amazed at how God provides 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the antidote to fear at renebeams.

meta

