holy spirit prayers

September 12, 2010 § Leave a comment

fresco at the Karlskirche in vienna (by Johann...

Image via Wikipedia

Back in Vancouver, I used to recite this prayer and it really made a difference to my days. I tried to recite it recently but was dismayed that I had forgotten the words. This is the closest I can find, though it sounds a bit old englishy:

O Holy Spirit of God, visit now this soul of mine, and tarry within it until eventide.  Inspire all my thoughts.  Pervade all my imaginations.  Suggest all my decisions.  Lodge in my will’s most inward citadel and order all my doings.  Be with me in my silence and in my speech, in my haste and in my leisure, in company and in solitude, in the freshness of the morning and in the weariness of the evening; and give me grace at all times to rejoice in thy mysterious companionship.

The following, the more contemporary version, is reconstructed from memory:

O Holy Spirit of God
Abide with Me
Inspire all my thoughts
Suggest my decisions
Order all my doings
Be with me in my speech and in my silence
In my haste and in my leisure
In company and in solitude
In the freshness of the morning and the weariness of the evening
and give me the grace at all times
to humbly rejoice in thy mysterious companionship.
Here’s another prayer to the Holy Spirit, by St. Augustine:
Breathe in me, O Holy Spirit, that my thoughts may all be holy. Act in me, O Holy Spirit, that my work, too, may be holy.

Draw my heart, O Holy Spirit, that I love but what is holy.

Strengthen me, O Holy Spirit, to defend all that is holy.

Guard me, then, O Holy Spirit, that I always may be holy.

Amen.


Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading holy spirit prayers at renebeams.

meta

