world missionary rosary

September 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

“We the baptized have work to do as brothers and sisters in Christ. The world is in need of Jesus Christ and his Gospel, the Good News that God loves us.” (Pope John Paul II)

“We must pray, and not for ourselves, but for the world.” (Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen)

Thinking about my long-gone maid makes me think how we in the world are all inter-related. Because she had to take care of me, some young girl out there was deprived of a mother for years. We may not have known or seen one another, yet I feel as if my life is bound with that young girl.

Recently, I’ve been praying the rosary as an alternative to the stations of the cross (if I get down to praying at 3pm), because I can’t find the stations of the cross booklet. But I can’t find a rosary around the house which I like. While browsing around in the bookstore near St. Peter and Paul with Dom, I saw a world missionary rosary. I’m not sure how important should it be to like the rosary you’re praying with, but anyway I bought one because I want to have a rosary that’s my very own.

I got a missionary rosary because I like colours and it’s nice to know I’m making progression on the 5 decades.  But also, knowing how our lives are all linked and how we are all one body in Christ, I am drawn to the idea of praying for the world.

I just went to search about the missionary rosary to find out more about this and this website strikes me as really useful. But first, some brief information about this rosary:

In February of 1951, Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen (national director of the Society for the Propagation of the Faith from 1950 to 1966), in a radio address (The Catholic Hour), inaugurated a World Mission Rosary.

Each decade of that World Mission Rosary calls to mind an area where the Church continues her evangelizing mission:

  • green for the forests and grasslands of Africa
  • blue for the ocean surrounding the islands of the Pacific
  • white symbolizing Europe, the seat of the Holy Father, shepherd of the world
  • red calling to mind the fire of faith that brought missionaries to the Americas
  • yellow, the morning light of the East, for ASIA.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading world missionary rosary at renebeams.

meta

