too busy for God?

September 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

Busy desk.

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes, we hear people say, “I am too busy for God.”

Lately, I’ve been too busy for God. The work has been piling in, and I feel myself at the edge of collapse. I’ve missed several sessions of my bible study too.

But it is in the midst of this busyness and the emotional vulnerability, that I feel myself drawn to read the bible to seek comfort and to read words of assurance. Yesterday I picked up my bible again and it was so nice to be holding the bible and reading about how Joshua defeated Jericho with God’s help. What stood out to me in the book of Joshua was what God said to Joshua at the beginning:

“Just be determined, be confident; and make sure that you obey the whole Law that my servant Moses gave you. Do not neglect any part of it and you will succeed wherever you go. Be sure that the book of the Law is always read in your worship. Study it day and night, and make sure that you obey everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.” (Joshua 1:7-8)

Why ‘day and night’? Why not every week? I feel it’s because God knows how easily we forget. I reflect on the need to trust God quite often, but often I forget and let the worries way me down. No wonder, he says we must study His law DAY AND NIGHT.

Instead, I’m thinking about the deadlines I have day and night. FAIL. No wonder I’m tired.

It is in my busiest time that I need him the most. I think I may be starting to understand why my year 4 CSS seniors in the past would attend mass so frequently. For it is when I’m at my weakest, with nothing– no laurels, no talents, no friends I see every day– to depend on, that I realise that He is my only source of strength.

Note to self: Perhaps mummy is on leave to at least ensure I eat healthily and don’t fall sick 😀 How God provides!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading too busy for God? at renebeams.

meta

