History come alive

February 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

It has been a most interesting Chinese New Year. It was a history lesson come alive for me.

I learnt about what Singapore was like in the old times. Life was tough then. My grandma’s brother lived in a compound house, and he says he was one of the luckier ones who had a well and running pipe water. He also described how the toilets were like–very far from the house because of the smell, and having two separate parts, for big business and small ones ๐Ÿ˜€

Then I learnt about my grandpa and his french loaf. It’s really a cool story. More to come on that, I need to find out the details ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve also just been talking to my cousin on facebook and sharing the family stories we’ve heard over the years. We talked about how handsome and pretty our grandparents are too, and how they fell in love. It’s really romantic I think, though it was a match-make ๐Ÿ˜€ Mama says she liked Kong Kong because he was a simple guy. And he is, I really like my Kong because of that too. And also, he looks out for me. I don’t know why Kong liked Mama. Sure she was pretty. But since he’s been having hearing problems, my communication with him is mostly huge grins and gestures. He only understands when my grandma speaks.

I’m thinking of having a family scrapbook ๐Ÿ™‚ Since I like crafting so much, it’s probably gonna be quite ok. I just need all the help I can get with the collection of stories and photos!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading History come alive at renebeams.

meta

