resisting change

March 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

Why do humans resist change, yet propel on forward at seemingly lightning speeds?

Some types of changes have become habits. We change our handphones every other year. We move into a new house every 5 years or so. Some change their partners with the same frequency.

Amidst this, I try to hold on to whatever shreds of the old. Yet, changes bombard me still. Resistance makes it worse.

I’m going to graduate.

For the past 2 years, I have been looking forward to it. At least, I didn’t see a point in studying and wanted to get out of this as soon as possible. A semester into graduating, I held the same blase attitude.

Then suddenly it dawns. I’m going to graduate. I find myself resisting the idea, wanting to retreat into the comfortable rhythm of studying. Is it because studying has been good? No. Then why do I resist the idea of graduating?

Perhaps I do so, simply because I resist change in itself.

And I wonder, I wonder why. Why do I resist change itself, why do I value constancy and familiarity? Could it be that I was meant to embrace the unchanging and eternal?

God comes to mind. Only God is unchanging and eternal, and perhaps in my resistance to change it is him I have been seeking. Perhaps not. I don’t even realise I am seeking Him. But clearly, clearly He is the answer to a soul who seeks eternity.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading resisting change at renebeams.

meta

