on His lap

April 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

 

During the Eucharist, the image ofme on Jesus’s lap in heaven came to mind. Though we were so high up, I could see the mountains clearly, and the people in their daily lives. He was pointing out the various happenings on earth. It was nice to see things through His eyes. I went from mourning for the loss of my childhood to being a child again, problem-free and happy.

When I read today’s reading about the new heaven and earth, I imagined myself once more on his lap. And I watched as He showed me what a new heaven and new earth would look like.

Thus says the Lord: Now I create new heavens and a new earth, and the past will not be remembered, and will come no more to men’s minds. Be glad and rejoice for ever and ever for what I am creating, because I now create Jerusalem ‘Joy’ and her people ‘Gladness.’ I shall rejoice over Jerusalem and exult in my people. No more will the sound of weeping or the sound of cries be heard in her; in her, no more will be found the infant living a few days only, or the old man not living to the end of his days. To die at the age of a hundred will be dying young; not to live to be a hundred will be the sign of a curse. They will build houses and inhabit them, plant vineyards and eat their fruit. (Isaiah 65:17-21)

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading on His lap at renebeams.

meta

