September 16, 2011 § 2 Comments

Every day I walk into class, I feel like I’m walking into a battlefield.

I come home exhausted, and almost immediately after my head hits the pillow, I sleep like an exhausted soldier. I used to need to bath first before touching my bed.

The good thing is that every day, I have something to laugh about. A student plucking his friend’s white hair during the lesson. Boys trying to act cool but fail miserably, in my eyes at least. Their honesty. I smile to myself on the bus ride home like a loon.

 

§ 2 Responses to

  • D says:

    Sounds to me like it’s a very fulfilling job. 🙂

    I visited a cousin of my father’s. In Sri Lanka if you join as a government-paid teacher, you often get posted to remote school for your first assignment. My aunt teaches at a poor school of 56 children. She is in charge of a class of 10. She wakes up at 3am to get her own children ready for school and leaves at 5 by bus to her own school. The journey includes walking 1km up a hill, when it rains she has to carry her shoes in her hands; it’s an area where wild elephants sometimes can be encountered (scary!).

    The students are children of quarry workers, and farmers. They didn’t have shows, they are often hungry. So my aunt often cooks for them. Some Korean Christians (my aunt is married to a Baptist pastor) helped them to buy shoes, helped fix a playground, a Scottish pastor took the kids to Colombo. During harvest time, often the parents keep their kids at home to help, so one of the teachers takes his bicycle and rides through the area getting the kids back to school.

    My aunt is also studying for her postgraduate degree in teaching. She often sleeps only 2 hours a day. It’s very taxing, but she is reluctant to ask for a transfer. Her kids love her, and are so sad when she’s absent. She loves them too.

    I was so struck by both the heroism and the satisfaction that her job entails. 🙂

  • renebeams says:

    Yes its tough but fulfilling. Thanks for telling me about her, it’s encouraging to hear of such heroic teachers 🙂 She’s more than a teacher, she’s like a mother! I feel bad leaving the kids I taught previously behind so I know, or think I do.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at renebeams.

meta

