October 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

Smiling to myself has become the norm these days.

A male student who asks with all seriousness what a family emergency is. A co-form, who with the most serious of expressions, enlightens the boy with of all things, “for example, maybe your father died?”

The look of shock as the boy contemplates that possibility. His friends who laugh. A teacher– me– who quickly goes to the broom so as to ‘touch-wood’ on that statement.

A student who is late for consultation. When asked why, tells the truth, but the whole ridiculous truth, which he asks I keep to myself 🙂 I smile my most knowing smile.

+++

On an unrelated note, I painted 3 birds at my desk today. Invigilation is so boring but it means I have more free time.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading at renebeams.

meta