Low expectations

October 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

Just as I was about to scold a student for littering, the boys beside me tell me, ‘cher, we are like that one. Lower your expectations.’ To which I retorted, ‘why should I?’ ‘We are in normal cher,’ came the answer. ‘So? You don’t have to act like this,’ came another retort.

‘Labelling, what can we do?’

Ever defiant, I replied, ‘reject it!’

‘I am only one boy, what can I do?’

During the teacher training, the lecturer said this day would come…

He did not say though, that the day would come where I realise I can sometimes be more rude and rebellious than the teenagers I’m teaching. Whoever said that when you’re in your twenties you leave the teenage angst behind?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Low expectations at renebeams.

meta

