Those were the days, my friend

March 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

Sometimes I think that we degenerate as we grow older. Or we may not have degenerated, but life just becomes harder and it’s easier to forget the important things in life–which came easily to us when we were young.

Take friendships. Every time I talk to a student, the topic seems to come up. Friends is the all important word. I remember a time not too long ago when it was so for me. But now… I’m jaded. I think I’ve experienced enough to expect that when a friend finds his/her significant other, the friendship takes a backseat. Of course, it should. But I’m sore that sometimes it takes more than just a backseat.  I’m sore that things change.

So I am forced to admit that the friendship was based partly on the need for companionship. It was based partly on the fact that it was convenient to meet.

Is there a bond no significant other or lack of convenience can break? 😦

I think I feel deep inside that I would be just happy with very good friends whom I can share my life with. We would call each other every other day and meet up for dinner once a week.

Is this why I am, like everyone else, special.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Those were the days, my friend at renebeams.

meta

