November 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

I got my body fat measured and it was…30%! (The ideal for women would be 17%) 

I’ve long suspected that despite the so-called slim figure which has no changed much since I was in my teens (I THINK), I was made up of very much fat so well, that just confirms it and I need to do something about it so…

 

I’ve been trying out the no-carb diet which is supposed to last 2 weeks and on day 1 I am getting a bit depressed because 

1) It requires I eat lots of meat and fats, but I am not a meat person… so therefore bad at cooking and choosing meat too, evident from how tough the chicken I chose/cooked is

2) The mother asks if I want avocado milkshake and I have to say ‘no’

3) Yes… Even fruits are out 😦 Apples, bananas, orange, grapes…

4) I come across a video recipe on how to make pistachio ice-cream hmmmm 

5) I HAVE HUNGER PANGS AND NO APPETITE (if that sounds like a reasonable statement) 

 

On day 2, I am feeling listless and in no mood to cook horrendous tasting food. 

I decide there’s got to be a compromise and I can have a little carbs for my emotional well-being. No point being thin but sad. So I buy blueberries (low GI) and pure cream–luckily, pure cream is allowed as it’s high in fat. So there! My “blueberry ice-cream”! Seems like a piece of heaven 😀

Yay! What next! I can have hazelnut with cream, almond with cream, pistachios with cream 🙂 At this rate I don’t even feel like I’m on a no-carb diet ladeedum! If I lose weight, I might even be surprised :O

Then today (day 3) I got organic beef slices and apparently, no one (linked on the 1st page of google search) has figured out to cook that the no-carb + fuss-free way. After feeling a little sorry for myself, I came home and unleashed the inner artist in me and ooh I am happy with the way my beef tastes!

I cooked it with butter and sesame oil, then poured fish sauce and added black pepper. YUMMY 😀 

3 day verdict

I am more energetic (even when I try to get my afternoon nap, I can’t sleep…except on day 1 where I was mighty depressed) 

I am coming across food that I like! Seeing how I have “discovered” blueberry “ice-cream” and INVENTED (:D) butter w sesame oil w fish sauce beef 😀

I am honing the skills of preparing home-cooked food for consumption outside, which will totally come in handy when starting work again next year. This year my meals largely comprised of ban mian and super sweet tau huay. OK, yong tau fu too. 

 

Looking ahead…

Tmr I will be going for a conference with food provided and a wedding reception! I sure hope my home-cooked food is better because if not it will be quite tempting 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at renebeams.

meta

